Go to main content Virginia Credit Union League Virginia Credit Union League
Home Tidewater Chapter Awards $19,500 in Education Scholarships

Tidewater Chapter Awards $19,500 in Education Scholarships

Authored By: Lewis Wood on 5/12/2023

The Tidewater Chapter awarded $19,500 in scholarships to deserving high school seniors at the chapter's recent annual Scholarship Night.

"We are so proud to recognize the accomplishments of this year's scholarship winners," noted Geri Metzger, chair of the Chapter's Scholarship Committee and CEO of Beach Municipal Federal Credit Union. "Not only are these graduates academic leaders, but they have also excelled in sports, in various clubs and organizations, and through a commitment to helping their communities."

For more than three decades, the Chapter's Scholarship program has helped students pursue their educational dreams. With this year's awards, the chapter has awarded $200,000 to deserving student members during the past two decades.

The scholarship is named in honor of Leigh Ann Graham, a recently retired Beach Municipal Federal Credit Union employee, who spent two decades as a volunteer leader in the Tidewater Chapter, an organization of Greater Hampton Roads-area credit unions that provides education to member credit unions, coordinates legislative advocacy work, and organizes charitable events.

Congratulations to the following scholarship winners:

Louis Cantolanza 1st Advantage Federal Credit Union
Alexis Flowers 1st Advantage Federal Credit Union
Emma Stelljes 1st Advantage Federal Credit Union
Kelsey Edwards ABNB Federal Credit Union
Patrick Nelson BayPort Credit Union
Amber Mackiewicz Beach Municipal Federal Credit Union
Logan Bryant Bronco Federal Credit Union
Kaitylyn Worrell Bronco Federal Credit Union
Amon Gary Bronco Federal Credit Union
Aidan Catoe Chartway Federal Credit Union
Ean Moore Norfolk Fire Department Federal Credit Union
Kiersten Holley PFD Firefighters Credit Union
Eizayah Chisolm Virginia Beach Postal Federal Credit Union

And many thanks to the Tidewater Chapter Scholarship Committee for coordinating the scholarship program: Geri Metzger (Chair) (Beach Municipal Federal Credit Union); Susan Easter (PFD Firefighters Credit Union) and Pam Lease (Bronco Federal Credit Union)!

« Return to "News" Go to main navigation