Go to main content Virginia Credit Union League Virginia Credit Union League
Home Celebrating Leadership and Advocacy at IGNITE: Farley, Kirsch, and Red Scarf Award Winners

Celebrating Leadership and Advocacy at IGNITE: Farley, Kirsch, and Red Scarf Award Winners


IGNITE is a cornerstone event for the Virginia Credit Union League, where we take the opportunity to honor those whose efforts have significantly shaped the credit union landscape in Virginia. This year, we are proud to present awards to remarkable individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and commitment.

kirsh farley and red scarf awards


Eugene H. Farley Award of Excellence

chris williams

The Eugene H. Farley Award of Excellence is awarded to someone who has made substantial contributions over two or three years. This year’s recipient, Chris Williams, CEO of Henrico Federal Credit Union, Henrico, VA has exemplified exceptional leadership and dedication to advancing the credit union mission on a local, state, and national level.

Chris has led Henrico Federal Credit Union through numerous strategic initiatives that have substantially improved operational efficiency and member services. In just two years, Chris has transformed Henrico FCU, growing assets from $53 million to over $432 million and expanding membership to 30,614 individuals. His initiatives, including the Financial Empowerment Center, have promoted financial literacy and community support, while his advocacy for participation lending has diversified services and increased flexibility for growth. 

Chris currently serves on the VACUL Board and previously served as Board Chairman. His leadership at the League and commitment to empowering communities have made him a respected figure in the credit union community and very deserving of this prestigious award.


James P. Kirsch Lifetime Achievement Award

The James P. Kirsch Lifetime Achievement Award acknowledges a lifetime of dedication to the credit union industry, celebrating significant career-long contributions.


Stan P. Leicester II

The James P. Kirsch Lifetime Achievement Award honors Stan P. Leicester II, Executive Vice President of BayPort Credit Union, Newport News, VA this year for his significant contributions throughout his career. Stan has played a pivotal role in the growth and success of BayPort Credit Union, demonstrating exemplary leadership and commitment to the community.

Stan has worked at Bayport CU for over 40 years at BayPort with his leadership helping to drive the institution's growth from $100 million to $2.4 billion in assets. His forward-thinking initiatives, including the BayPort Insurance Agency, LLC, and BayPort Financial Investment Advisors, reshaped the organization. Stan's community impact programs, including the Student-Run Credit Union, benefit thousands of students and teachers annually. His advocacy extends beyond Bayport, with significant contributions to the credit union industry in Virginia including serving on the League Board, including as chairman, and being instrumental in the creation of the Credit Union House of Virginia.  Stan leaves a legacy of being a transformative leadership at both Bayport CU and the credit union industry.



Jeff Moscicki

We also honor Jeff Moscicki, the late Chairman of UVA Community Credit Union, with the James P. Kirsch Lifetime Achievement Award. His profound dedication and visionary leadership during his lifetime continue to inspire and impact our community significantly. His family accepted the award on his behalf: Mrs. Janet Moscicki (widow of Mr. Jeffrey Moscicki), J.C. Moscicki (son of Mr. Jeffrey Moscicki), and Jarod Moscicki (son of Mr. Jeffrey Moscicki).

Jeff served a volunteer at UVA Community CU for nearly thirty years, most recently as Board Chairman. Under Jeff's leadership the credit union grew significantly from $130 million to over $1.4 billion in assets. He introduced impactful initiatives like the Scholarship Program, offering $62,500 in scholarships annually to graduating high school seniors. Jeff also organized energy-saving initiatives, financial literacy programs, and community partnerships, leaving a lasting legacy of impact and service. His vision and dedication will be remembered and cherished by colleagues and peers in the industry for years to come.


Red Scarf Award

Red scarf award

The Red Scarf Award, newly created this year, recognizes significant impacts made in credit union advocacy within the Commonwealth of Virginia. This award highlights achievements in advocacy projects, sustained leadership in grassroots advocacy, or substantial contributions to VACUPAC fundraising.

Chris Anuswith, VP of Risk Management of ABNB Credit Union, is this year's deserving winner, celebrated for his relentless dedication to enhancing our legislative influence. His leadership has significantly boosted our advocacy efforts, ensuring that credit unions have a powerful voice in legislative matters. 

Chris has worked in the credit union since 1991 when he became CEO/President of Guardian FCU in 1991. His leadership in credit union advocacy was instrumental in defending Field of Membership regulations, leading to the passage of HR-1151, a pivotal moment for credit unions nationwide. His advocacy also helped secure federal preemption for FCUs regarding fee refunds. Chris has been a strong and vocal leader of VACUL’s advocacy efforts, serving on League’s Governmental Affairs Committee, promoting VACUPAC, and helping to create the current State-Wide Advocacy Committee. As a partially retired VP of Risk Management at ABNB Credit Union, Anuswith remains committed to member interests and community welfare, leaving a lasting impact on the credit union industry.

While Anuswith could not attend the conference, his award was accepted by newly-elected League board member, Charlie Mallon of ABNB FCU.


Congratulations to all the winners!

The Virginia Credit Union League celebrates these distinguished individuals and their unwavering commitment to the credit union movement. Their achievements are not just personal milestones but also reflect our community's collective strength and resilience. We had the privilege of honoring these individuals in person, at IGNITE | the League Annual Meeting.


« Return to "News" Go to main navigation